Review

Review by Tommy Faith Tommy Faith

13 Sep 2019

Triple J
35

Channeling some Scandinavian pop sensibilities through the vessel of Feels' ever spritely production

Channeling some Scandinavian pop sensibilities through the vessel of Feels' ever spritely production

Review

Review by Declan Byrne Declan Byrne

22 Feb 2019

Triple J
40

once again feels have packed sounds, rhythms and ideas into a song that not many others could even think of.

once again feels have packed sounds, rhythms and ideas into a song that not many others could even think of.

Review

Review by Dan Condon Dan Condon

20 Feb 2019

Triple J
45

Hook this up to my veins. Mindbendingly brilliant future-pop that grabs you immediately and will not let go.

Hook this up to my veins. Mindbendingly brilliant future-pop that grabs you immediately and will not let go.

Review

Review by Max Quinn Max Quinn

19 Feb 2019

Triple J
45

how are you even able to think like this. i don't understand even one second of how you did this but i love every second of it.

how are you even able to think like this. i don't understand even one second of how you did this but i love every second of it.

Review

Review by Dave Ruby Howe Dave Ruby Howe

18 Feb 2019

Triple J
45

Feels isn't like anybody else. Let me rephrase that. Nobody is like Feels. Hard to find some true originals in 2019 but Rosie and Elise have earned that title with their bright and fidgety club experiments.

Feels isn't like anybody else. Let me rephrase that. Nobody is like Feels. Hard to find some true originals in 2019 but Rosie and Elise have earned that title with their bright and fidgety club experiments.

Review

They Need Us (feat. Stella ...

Feels

Review by Claire Mooney Claire Mooney

28 Jun 2018

Triple J
45

We all need this AND this couldn't come at a more important time.

It was only yesterday that someone, who was male, said that "an all female-fronted festival line up was dividing the gap between genders". They then continued to say, "imagine if it was the other way around". Fact is, it is the other way around and it has been for a long period of time.

Here...

We all need this AND this couldn't come at a more important time.

It was only yesterday that someone, who was male, said that "an all female-fronted festival line up was dividing the gap between genders". They then continued to say, "imagine if it was the other way around". Fact is, it is the other way around and it has been for a long period of time.

Here's proof that women & GNC have experienced different treatment in this song:
"do you ladies need some help"
"did you make that beat yourself"
"are you here with someone else"
"we chose merit over gender"
"seeing you chicks in action - it was cute".

Here's more proof of the gender imbalance on festival lineups - https://www.instagram.com/lineupswithoutmales/.
In relation to the line "we try to keep it fair, but there are no female bands"…there are countless female-fronted acts coming through Unearthed. I, and the entire team see it every day. AND you know what, we could give you countless names of female acts that would suit a particular "vibe", a particular genre, time and slot on a festival/gig line up if given the chance and opportunity. AND if not being ready and not being as developed is the problem, well maybe we should think about how the opportunity and encouragement would help make female artists feel ready, developed and believe in themselves.

I would just like to add - when I had a little chat to Rackett from Sydney, Kat said this & it really stood out to me.

“Being a female in the industry is a double edge sword right. Cos’ number one, you’re an underdog you always have something to prove. Number 2, you’re an underdog, you have all that room to surprise”.

And this song reminds me of that quote so much - do not underestimate women in the music industry. This track is a strong reminder that there are issues that need to be addressed and we all need to work together in order to move forward. I can also recognise that being on stage or writing songs like this - spilling your soul and guts out into your art, having a strong opinion, being vulnerable for your work in an industry where you might feel dominated, at a disadvantage or not listened to can be difficult. But it is important to me. It is important to other women, men, consumers and other, that we hear it. It's what starts conversation and then change. I don't take it like it's a men vs women thing at all either. Because it's not and it shouldn't be. We all need to work together.

You girls CAN write a beat and one with a distinctive Feels sound. And Stella, you come over it perfectly. You girls are the rock.

ALSO, loved reading this little insight into the track - https://www.wompp.com.au/latest-release/

More Less

Review

They Need Us (feat. Stella ...

Feels

Review by Dave Ruby Howe Dave Ruby Howe

25 Jun 2018

Triple J
45

That elaborate, brainy production is the perfect vessel for Stella and Feels to communicate this track's sobering message. Pretty fucked that these kind of lines have been coming at these p r o f e s s i o n a l musicians regularly. Good thing is they've given us another reason to celebrate their excellence here.

That elaborate, brainy production is the perfect vessel for Stella and Feels to communicate this track's sobering message. Pretty fucked that these kind of lines have been coming at these p r o f e s s i o n a l musicians regularly. Good thing is they've given us another reason to celebrate their excellence here.

Review

They Need Us (feat. Stella ...

Feels

Review by Tommy Faith Tommy Faith

22 Jun 2018

Triple J
40

We absolutely need you and anyone who thinks otherwise can get in the sea.

We absolutely need you and anyone who thinks otherwise can get in the sea.

Review

They Need Us (feat. Stella ...

Feels

Review by Jimmy Russell Jimmy Russell

29 Jun 2018

Super Reviewer
45

They Need Us is a sobering call-to-arms of the inherent gender bias and imbalance in the music industry landscape. At just over three minutes, this enraged, middle-finger raiser is 100% deserving of your time and attention. Softly sung by an understandably pissed off and unapologetic Stella Donnelly, this breath of fresh air is perfectly paired with Feels’ intricate, bass-heavy, multi-layered...

They Need Us is a sobering call-to-arms of the inherent gender bias and imbalance in the music industry landscape. At just over three minutes, this enraged, middle-finger raiser is 100% deserving of your time and attention. Softly sung by an understandably pissed off and unapologetic Stella Donnelly, this breath of fresh air is perfectly paired with Feels’ intricate, bass-heavy, multi-layered brilliance. To put it bluntly, inequality and everyday sexism in any setting just isn’t on. As supported by the #MeToo movement, this anthemic antidote couldn’t come at a better time. Sadly, the fight is far from over. And that is why musicians, organisers and these so-called ‘professionals’ must continue to be held to account. It's about time we celebrate the musical contributions of women!!

More Less

Review

They Need Us (feat. Stella ...

Feels

Review by Paul Waxman Paul Waxman

23 Jun 2018

Super Reviewer
45

This has been a track I've been waiting for, for so long!! It's message needs to be displayed across every billboard and drilled into every dude's brain. This song is so important.

This has been a track I've been waiting for, for so long!! It's message needs to be displayed across every billboard and drilled into every dude's brain. This song is so important.

Review

They Need Us (feat. Stella ...

Feels

Review by Gabrielle Clement Gabrielle Clement

26 Jun 2018

Super Reviewer
40

yes yes yes yes 1000 times yes to this

yes yes yes yes 1000 times yes to this

Review

They Need Us (feat. Stella ...

Feels

50

Exposing gender roles in the performing arts perfectly and almost ironically. Can’t shit change already?! They need us hook is impregnating. Let’s call that a trolling analogue. I wouldn’t confuse patronising advise for lust, would you?

Exposing gender roles in the performing arts perfectly and almost ironically. Can’t shit change already?! They need us hook is impregnating. Let’s call that a trolling analogue. I wouldn’t confuse patronising advise for lust, would you?

Review

They Need Us (feat. Stella ...

Feels

Socks

29 Mar 2019

50

Review

Review by CRITIKAL CRITIKAL

25 Mar 2019

45

Beat juggler circus master!!!

Beat juggler circus master!!!

Review

They Need Us (feat. Stella ...

Feels

45

Review

Review by Young Robin Young Robin

23 Feb 2019

45

v cool

v cool

Review

They Need Us (feat. Stella ...

Feels

Review by rrobby rrobby

08 Jul 2018

40

more please

more please

Review

They Need Us (feat. Stella ...

Feels

KZO94Pilot15

29 Jun 2018

50

Review

They Need Us (feat. Stella ...

Feels

Review by Jay Ashton Jay Ashton

23 Jun 2018

40

Feels!

Feels!