Review

Review by Zan Rowe Zan Rowe

03 Jul 2018

Triple J
35

Love the way this one swells up and up, and also the blend of the autoharp with more modern production; really pretty.

Love the way this one swells up and up, and also the blend of the autoharp with more modern production; really pretty.

Review

Review by Tommy Faith Tommy Faith

22 Jun 2018

Triple J
30

synth-folk is a great description for Collarbone, full on unusual production and unexpected textures

synth-folk is a great description for Collarbone, full on unusual production and unexpected textures

Review

Review by Declan Byrne Declan Byrne

22 Jun 2018

Triple J
35

a rousing effort from julia here, with some laura marling touches for good measure.

a rousing effort from julia here, with some laura marling touches for good measure.

Review

Review by Dave Ruby Howe Dave Ruby Howe

05 Jul 2017

Triple J
35

Exciting to hear Julia's new music. I like the theatricality of the chorus and the clink of so many different sounds throughout.

Exciting to hear Julia's new music. I like the theatricality of the chorus and the clink of so many different sounds throughout.

Review

Review by Paul Waxman Paul Waxman

23 Jun 2018

Super Reviewer
35

What a voice! What a tune! What a backing track! All of this is so interesting and so exciting.

What a voice! What a tune! What a backing track! All of this is so interesting and so exciting.

Review

Review by Dom Alessio Dom Alessio

19 Jul 2017

Super Reviewer
35

Bat For Lashes reimagined as the soujndtrack to the next party you throw in an opulent baroque chateau.

Bat For Lashes reimagined as the soujndtrack to the next party you throw in an opulent baroque chateau.

Review

Vinh Nguyen

27 Aug 2018

50

Julia gave a rousing performance at Northcote's Wesley Anne after stepping off a plane at 4am from Sydney and having little to no sleep. I feel that this gave us two bonuses; a level of banter that still remains unsurpassed and a performance that was disinhibited and engaging. I feel like we all needed to be introduced to the autoharp and Julia's preferred way of playing it; 'a g...

Julia gave a rousing performance at Northcote's Wesley Anne after stepping off a plane at 4am from Sydney and having little to no sleep. I feel that this gave us two bonuses; a level of banter that still remains unsurpassed and a performance that was disinhibited and engaging. I feel like we all needed to be introduced to the autoharp and Julia's preferred way of playing it; 'a glasses (spectacles) case covered with a sock.'

There are a huge number of artists with roots in folk applying those vocals and tunes to different modalities in Australia. Collarbone is a great example of this and reminds me a lot of Susanne Sundfør until the awesome chorus comes around, the 'La la la!' hits you in the face and takes you on a multi instrumental journey.

More Less

Review

Paul Jacobson

21 Aug 2018

35

Nice vibes

Nice vibes

Review

Jarryd Brand

03 Jul 2017

35

Overall I'd describe this track as ghostly. The beautiful and skeletal strings accompanied by the booming percussion brings an eerie presence to Julia's voice.

Overall I'd describe this track as ghostly. The beautiful and skeletal strings accompanied by the booming percussion brings an eerie presence to Julia's voice.