Review

Review by Elsa Silberstein Elsa Silberstein

18 Jan 2019

Triple J
40

I love how many different energies are in this- whispery vocals and pacey bass, it's just so TASTY.

I love how many different energies are in this- whispery vocals and pacey bass, it's just so TASTY.

Review

Review by Dave Ruby Howe Dave Ruby Howe

16 Mar 2018

Triple J
30

This gets interesting as you play around with some different elements after the three minute mark. Keep exploring and finding your sound.

This gets interesting as you play around with some different elements after the three minute mark. Keep exploring and finding your sound.

Review

Review by Dani Brown Dani Brown

20 Feb 2019

Super Reviewer
40

This is not what I was expecting! You've got a name almost reminiscent of pop punk bands of the last decade, but this is some fresh indie pop rock right here. I want to compare this to Sheppard but there's a grittiness behind it that makes it less polished, and I mean that in an entirely good way. Would love to see how this is interpreted live! Good stuff.

This is not what I was expecting! You've got a name almost reminiscent of pop punk bands of the last decade, but this is some fresh indie pop rock right here. I want to compare this to Sheppard but there's a grittiness behind it that makes it less polished, and I mean that in an entirely good way. Would love to see how this is interpreted live! Good stuff.

Review

Review by Kyle Taylor Kyle Taylor

16 Jan 2019

Super Reviewer
30

First thing I noticed was the harmonies of Claudia cutting through on this track. I feel like jumping right in to this track. Looking forward to the next track by Beyond The Picture.

First thing I noticed was the harmonies of Claudia cutting through on this track. I feel like jumping right in to this track. Looking forward to the next track by Beyond The Picture.

Review

JR

02 Feb 2019

50

What an absolute tune - with a strong end. Great song live too. Funky stuff

What an absolute tune - with a strong end. Great song live too. Funky stuff

Review

ZGrear

24 Jan 2019

50

Great sound with interesting tune and cool bass lines.

Great sound with interesting tune and cool bass lines.

Review

Thomas Kemp

16 Jan 2019

45

Beyond the Picture made a strong entry last year with their debut single 'Spilt Milk' which evoked a very unique sound inspired by revered artists such as The Cure, Radiohead and Pink Floyd - who's influences were particularly evident; not least of all accompanied by stirring lyrics. I was excited to hear more..

Fox and the Hound was a very much welcome addition to the ban...

Beyond the Picture made a strong entry last year with their debut single 'Spilt Milk' which evoked a very unique sound inspired by revered artists such as The Cure, Radiohead and Pink Floyd - who's influences were particularly evident; not least of all accompanied by stirring lyrics. I was excited to hear more..

Fox and the Hound was a very much welcome addition to the band's repertoire and surprised me with a further developed, yet familiar sound which helps build upon the band's musical style which is seemingly ever growing and willing to be experimental and ambitious in both instrumentation and songwriting. From the get-go the sound of dogs (or perhaps foxes? haha) sets an almost ominous scene before a sudden emergence of drums kickstart the song in gear, providing an energetic feel throughout. I really enjoyed the interwoven use of both the male lead vocalist supported by the female vocalist as it brought with it a very pleasant balance, particular during the tracks chorus' - the pair definitely compliment each other although at times it can be heard to hear what has been said, though this hardly has any substantial impact. Both the electric and bass guitars offered a solid foundation to the track; upon repeated listens I have found myself picking up on little ways both instruments have supplied some interesting depth to the song which may not seem as obvious initially, none more-so than the keyboard which almost transforms the track from a simple 'alt-rock' tune to a sound that is rich and engrossing. The drums yet again, I feel helped propel this song forward and kept it lively throughout.

Well done to all the band members, this was another great song which I imagine would be excellent in a live performance, can't wait for more !

More Less

Review

Matthew Grear

18 Jan 2019

50

Lots of things going on, coming together to make a very catchy song! Nice work guys, keep it up

Lots of things going on, coming together to make a very catchy song! Nice work guys, keep it up

Review

Dan McCarthy

19 Jan 2019

45

Great tune! Unique sound! I look forward to hearing more from them.

Great tune! Unique sound! I look forward to hearing more from them.

Review

jackystew

21 Jan 2019

40

Really digging the finish on this choon, think it finishes on a real high and the groove in the bassline is damn SEXY.

Really digging the finish on this choon, think it finishes on a real high and the groove in the bassline is damn SEXY.

Review

dodlod

21 Jan 2019

50

This is an absolute banger! 10/10 would recommend. Can’t wait to hear more music from you guys.

This is an absolute banger! 10/10 would recommend. Can’t wait to hear more music from you guys.

Review

Olivia Watson

21 Jan 2019

50

Mad tune, really catchy melody and lyrics. Can’t wait for more!

Mad tune, really catchy melody and lyrics. Can’t wait for more!

Review

Bitrs

17 Jan 2019

50

Great fun vibe & feel on this one & the chorus hooks right in!

Great fun vibe & feel on this one & the chorus hooks right in!

Review

Review by chillchicken chillchicken

15 Jan 2019

45

Have seen these guys live a few times! Really cool bunch of chickens, love their stuff! So excited to see their name around more! Spilt Milk has a unique sound that's easy to listen to and I'm looking forward to hear more from Beyond The Picture!

Have seen these guys live a few times! Really cool bunch of chickens, love their stuff! So excited to see their name around more! Spilt Milk has a unique sound that's easy to listen to and I'm looking forward to hear more from Beyond The Picture!

Review

Willis

15 Jan 2019

50

Nice chill song, can't wait for more from these guys!

Nice chill song, can't wait for more from these guys!

Review

Review by chillchicken chillchicken

15 Jan 2019

50

Really love the pace of this one! Such a talented band! Much love for Beyond The Picture and very excited to watch this epic evolution!

Really love the pace of this one! Such a talented band! Much love for Beyond The Picture and very excited to watch this epic evolution!

Review

Burrows

15 Jan 2019

50

Absolute banger of a song!
Would play if someone passed the AUX.

These guys are getting better and better, can't wait for more stuff from them in the future!

Absolute banger of a song!
Would play if someone passed the AUX.

These guys are getting better and better, can't wait for more stuff from them in the future!

Review

Sara01

15 Jan 2019

50

Sick tune, loving this new sound

Sick tune, loving this new sound

Review

szaka

15 Jan 2019

40

Smooth rift

Smooth rift

Review

SteegieWonder

15 Jan 2019

50

This song gives off great vibes with great keys, smooth baseline and powerful lyrics. Great work beyond the picture keep it up.

This song gives off great vibes with great keys, smooth baseline and powerful lyrics. Great work beyond the picture keep it up.