Review

Review by Nkechi Anele Nkechi Anele

20 Aug 2020

Triple J
50

I am moved so deeply by this song.
Bec Sykes has stolen a piece of my heart and made it shine.

Car theft has never and will never sound this good.

I am moved so deeply by this song.
Bec Sykes has stolen a piece of my heart and made it shine.

Car theft has never and will never sound this good.

Review

Review by Ilai Swindells Ilai Swindells

13 Aug 2020

Triple J
40

Soul-stirring. Mystic and a real schmood.

Soul-stirring. Mystic and a real schmood.

Review

Review by Phoebe Bennett Phoebe Bennett

27 Jul 2020

Triple J
50

Phoaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. This is hauntingly beautiful.

Phoaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. This is hauntingly beautiful.

Review

Review by Bridget Hustwaite Bridget Hustwaite

28 Jul 2020

Triple J
50

It's the kind of song I would stay in my car for. Just flawless.

It's the kind of song I would stay in my car for. Just flawless.

Review

Review by Declan Byrne Declan Byrne

27 Jul 2020

Triple J
45

simply spellbinding. what a piece of songwriting from bec.

simply spellbinding. what a piece of songwriting from bec.

Review

Review by Richard Kingsmill Richard Kingsmill

27 Jul 2020

Triple J
45

Train to otherworldly departing here now.

Train to otherworldly departing here now.

Review

Review by Dan Condon Dan Condon

24 Jul 2020

Triple J
45

Your voice is so captivating and your writing is wonderfully economical. The gentle atmospheric touches in the production and the brevity of the song make it feel so fleeting, but the writing and performance make it so memorable. This song sounds unbelievable and I cannot wait to see you play it live (could be a while...).

Your voice is so captivating and your writing is wonderfully economical. The gentle atmospheric touches in the production and the brevity of the song make it feel so fleeting, but the writing and performance make it so memorable. This song sounds unbelievable and I cannot wait to see you play it live (could be a while...).

Review

Review by Lucy Smith Lucy Smith

23 Jul 2020

Triple J
50

And just like that, you've transported me back to my first bout of heartache at 21. Fuck. I'm going in for my fourth play.

And just like that, you've transported me back to my first bout of heartache at 21. Fuck. I'm going in for my fourth play.

Review

Review by Claire Mooney Claire Mooney

23 Jul 2020

Triple J
45

Just WOW Bec. Wow! Your voice and story telling is so rich, powerfully delivered and compelling that it gave me instant shivers. One of the most impressing and special debuts we've come across.

Just WOW Bec. Wow! Your voice and story telling is so rich, powerfully delivered and compelling that it gave me instant shivers. One of the most impressing and special debuts we've come across.

Review

Review by Tommy Faith Tommy Faith

21 Jul 2020

Triple J
45

This floored me from the first line to the last

This floored me from the first line to the last

Review

Review by Abby Butler Abby Butler

21 Jul 2020

Triple J
45

never thought I'd enjoy the feeling of being emotionally pummelled, but here we are.

never thought I'd enjoy the feeling of being emotionally pummelled, but here we are.

Review

Review by Dave Ruby Howe Dave Ruby Howe

21 Jul 2020

Triple J
45

This track is unreal. Vivid storytelling from Bec that's made all the more personal through the intimate recording. And then there's her voice, oh lord...

This track is unreal. Vivid storytelling from Bec that's made all the more personal through the intimate recording. And then there's her voice, oh lord...

Review

Review by Celline Narinli Celline Narinli

17 Jul 2020

Triple J
45

Having just the piano and your strong vocals makes it so special, so intimate and extremely memorable.

Having just the piano and your strong vocals makes it so special, so intimate and extremely memorable.

Review

Review by Lu Whites Lu Whites

22 Jul 2020

Super Reviewer
45

Maybe we could go down to Edithvale Beach and listen to this, and sob and let the wind whip our tears into Port Philip Bay?
hahah, Just kidding....unless?

Maybe we could go down to Edithvale Beach and listen to this, and sob and let the wind whip our tears into Port Philip Bay?
hahah, Just kidding....unless?

Review

Review by Beniah Colbourn Beniah Colbourn

19 Jul 2020

Super Reviewer
50

Okay so I'm absolutely obsessed with your vocals! And the Daughter / London Grammar energy in this just completes this perfectly! I love this!

Okay so I'm absolutely obsessed with your vocals! And the Daughter / London Grammar energy in this just completes this perfectly! I love this!

Review

Review by Miks Everitt Miks Everitt

19 Jul 2020

Super Reviewer
40

The beauty in this one is how simple it is - masterful song craft on show here. What a strong debut!

The beauty in this one is how simple it is - masterful song craft on show here. What a strong debut!

Review

Review by Timothy Wolf Timothy Wolf

23 Mar 2021

50

Eight months down the track and I still can't stop listening <3

Eight months down the track and I still can't stop listening <3

Review

50

This song is timeless and

This song is timeless and

Review

Sorry

05 Dec 2020

50

The vocals come on really strong, and the piano is intricate in parts. The ambiance that surrounds the integral parts of the song give the earbuds coursing veins of deliverance. And from the start to the end you can feel the weight of Bec's heart pounding those keys with enough passion and drive to empower a man to move on with his life, and for a woman to see clearly she is not all that p...

The vocals come on really strong, and the piano is intricate in parts. The ambiance that surrounds the integral parts of the song give the earbuds coursing veins of deliverance. And from the start to the end you can feel the weight of Bec's heart pounding those keys with enough passion and drive to empower a man to move on with his life, and for a woman to see clearly she is not all that perfect either. For we can all make mistakes and should remain at peace with each decision we make. That is a universal choice to show your heart to the world and Bec Sykes has done that. Now I look forward and so do so many others, as we await in anticipation for the next music single. I give this song 5 stars for making tears roll down the face of my office desk and though I can fault this track, like many others, including my own, I feel this track is only the stepping stone for Bec Sykes as she navigates her way through the next few years in her music career. May you blessed with songwriting and the words to express what we all can't. Thank you Bec Sykes!

More Less

Review

Lucylu

23 Nov 2020

50

OK so I'm old. But this song takes me back to feeling 17 again. I've got tears in my eyes and ache for that feeling of young love. Very powerful and evocative. Fabulous voice too

OK so I'm old. But this song takes me back to feeling 17 again. I've got tears in my eyes and ache for that feeling of young love. Very powerful and evocative. Fabulous voice too