Artist info


Rock, Roots

Sounds like

Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young, pink floyd, Yes

band members

Duncan Strachan - Vocals, Guitar Sean Thomas - Vocals, Drums James Dolin - Vocals, Guitar, Keys Michael Blackburn - Bass


fleetwod mac, The Edgar Broughton band, John Lee Hooker


From the hills outside of Perth, Western Australia, beginning in 2005 as 16-year old school friends, Duncan Strachan (vocals/guitar), Sean Thomas (vocals/drums), James Dolin (vocals/guitar/keys) and Luke Gaynor (bass) originally formed as a jam band. Eventually finding a happy medium playing psych, blues and groove rock, the band went on to performing as ‘Laced Affair’. As they continued to jam together and began playing shows in both metropolitan and regional areas of Western Australia, Laced Affair began to gain recognition in the local music scene, particularly in Fremantle. The band featured in the 2009 Norfolk Lanes Youth Festival and supported various launches around the Fremantle area. “They have nailed the art of psychedelic, slow building waves of addictive melody. Deep River Collective are a very impressive live act and a hard act to follow.” – In 2010, the band underwent a name change and released their EP ‘Lost Control (Long Ago)’ as Deep River Collective. The EP was recorded with Brian Mitra and was awarded EP of the week in Perth’s Drum Media magazine. The tracks ‘Lost Control (Long Ago)’, ‘Wicked Eyes’, ‘Alfred Gordon Phase Jam’ and ‘Curious Minds’ have received airtime on Perth community radio station RTRFM. “A bewitching slab of psychedelia that draws from the band’s creative drive and solid songwriting.” – Drum Media “Sonically dense and utterly propulsive, an outfit bound to be one of 2011′s most hyped about local bands.” – Xpress Magazine In 2011, Deep River Collective supported acts such as Stonefield, The Kill Devil Hills and San Cisco, played Fremantle’s boutique ‘Hidden Treasures’ festival, and undertaken several regional tours, before heading back into the studio at the end of the year to record their latest single. 2012 so far has seen the departure of bass player and long time friend Luke Gaynor, who has been replaced by Michael Blackburn. In January the band have supported Lewis Floyd Henry (UK) and finished their latest single ‘Excuses’, which was recorded with Ricky Maymi (The Brian Jonestown Massacre) and is to be released on 3rd March 2012.