Artist info



band members

John McCorkelle - Trumpet Richard Thornton - Trumpet Andrew Leach - Trombone Tarko Sibbel - Tenor Sax Aaron Searle - Bari Sax Gerard Assi - Guitar Dave George - Drums Adam Arnold - Sousaphone


Dirty Dozen Brass Band, Tower of Power, Trombone Shorty


New Orleans is known to most people as the birthplace of jazz. But as pop music took over the rest of the world, the New Orleans street bands were still doing their thing. They evolved too, influenced by ground breaking funk artists such as James Brown and Parliament. Bands took the music of the street into the Bourbon Street clubs. This down-to-earth back-to-basics brass driven funk spawned a whole new generation of bands and musicians, such as Trombone Shorty, the Youngblood Brass Band and the FUNK BUDDIES.