Artist info


Indie, Pop

band members

Kate Vigo - Vocals, Max Walker - Guitar, Dan Macdonald - Drums, Lily Parker - Keys, Thom Coombe - bass.


Billi Holiday, Aretha Franklin, Edith Piaf, Groove Armada, Joan As Police Woman, Cindy Lauper, Prince, The Beatles, Feist, Blondie


Whilst clearly touched by the light of a 60’s torch song, Kate Vigo’s latest single ‘Not The One’ has a clear contemporary edge. Featuring the musically adventurous spirit that quickly has become Vigo’s calling card, ‘Not The One’ is a blend of sweeping strings, a Shangri-la’s back beat and a whistling riff that is bound to stay on your lips for days. Turning the tradition of the girl singer at home crying over lost love on its head ‘Not The One’ is cute but cutting. Says Vigo of the track,“I wanted to do a cute 60’s inspired number that says you’re really nice and it would be easy to play along but... you’re just not the one. Sorry.” The release of ‘Not The One’ is just the latest in a round of wins for Vigo in 2012. Her previous single ‘Wanna Run’ was recently selected to be a finalist, from a pool of over 16,000 entries, in the International Songwriting Competition’s Unsigned Category, the winners of which will be announced this May. Vigo says “My songs have always had a dark side and for this album I wanted to write some more uplifting songs and also have some fun in the process of writing”. For more information head to Coming from an enriched musical platform Kate has unrelentingly launched herself at a vast array of projects, recently as the genesis for collaborations with people in the steed of Clare Bowditch. In 2010 Kate’s attitude toward her craft propelled her into achievements such as; a Musicoz Award for Best Video for ‘The Way You Are’, selected to attend the APRA/AMCOS Song Summit in Sydney, featuring on MAX Music, Network Ten’s new series Offspring, ABC’s Art Nation, and receiving radio airplay on Triple J, Radar Radio and Fox FM. Kate’s ability to shape a sentiment of anguish or her ability to propel the thrill of life in her song writing will ensure her evoking presence in the international music moonscape will be absorbed for an eternity. FESTIVAL APPEARANCES • 2011 – St Kilda Music Festival, VIC • 2011 – Cool Summer Festival, VIC • 2010 – Queenscliff Music Festival, VIC • 2010 – Rhythms in the Valley, VIC • 2010 – Brunswick Music Festival, VIC • 2010 – Port Fairy Folk Festival, VIC • 2010 – The Spiegeltent, Garden of Unearthly Delights, Adelaide Fringe, SA • 2010 – Shepparton Festival, VIC • 2010 – Mount Beauty Music Festival, VIC • 2010 – Falls Creek Music Festival, VIC • 2010 – Australia Day at The Docklands, VIC • 2009 – Queensland Multicultural Festival, QLD • 2009 – Semaphore Music Festival, SA AWARDS • 2010 - Arts Victoria Music Career Building Grant • 2010 - Australia Council Presentation and Promotion Grant • 2010 - Victorian Winner of APRA/AMCOS Song Summit • 2010 - Winner of Music Oz Best Video Clip for ‘The Way You Are’ • 2009 - Finalist in the NA2R Competition (New Artists to Radio) • 2009 - Shortlisted as APRA’s Vanda and Young Songwriter of the Year • 2007 - Runner-up in Independent Music Awards RELEASES • 2010 – EP: Someone Better, Independent/MGM • 2009 – Single: The Way You Are, Independent/MGM • 2008 – Remixes EP: It is Love, Independent/MGM • 2007 – Album: It is Love, Independent/MGM RADIO AIRPLAY & TELEVISION • Nova • Triple J • Fox FM – Australian First • Radar Radio (Austereo digital radio) • ABC Radio National • FBi Radio • PBS • Triple R • Joy FM • Southern FM • 97.9FM – Living In The Land Of Oz • Soundtrack of Channel Ten’s Offspring • Rage (ABC TV) – Indie Video Clip of the Week • MAX Music – First Play with Yumi • Art Nation (ABC TV) • Phoenix FM • Radio Adelaide • Voice FM • 3CR • Coast FM • 3 Way FM • ABC Radio – Various Stations