Artist info


Indie, Pop, Roots

band members

Ella Hunt: vocals, guitar Joel Davy: cello, vocals, bass, keys Sammy O'Brien: drums, percussion, vocals Tim Douglass: lead guitar, vocals


Laura Marling, Bob Dylan, Hiatus Kaiyote, Courtney Barnett,



Formed in Canberra in early 2016, the Lowlands write cleared-eyed, bittersweet folk songs. Coloured by the trio's love of jazz and blues, their music is for drinking to, dancing to, or when you feel like you've got the rough end of the pineapple.

'Release Me' is the first single off their self-titled EP. Released in December 2016, it was recorded by Ben Moore at Harvest Recordings, and features James Hunt (Maddy Jane and the Janes) on lead guitar.