Artist info


Indie, Rock

band members

Nick Burt - guitar & lead vox, Dennis Gonzalez - bass & backing vox, Aaron Farrant - drums & artwork

Unearthed artists we like

Aphelion, 4 Kings Loud, Kelshy, Palms, FOAM, Emergency Rule, Postblue


Shoot the Noose from Adelaide, South Australia, formed in 2011 with Nick Burt (lead vocals and guitar), Dennis Gonzalez (bass and backing vocals) and Aaron Farrant (drums and percussion). Shoot the Noose pursue a distinctly original and honest sound with a wide, cross-genre musical range.
The debut album ‘Rogue’ (2011) captures the raw energy of the newly formed trio delivering an exciting array of driving rock songs from ‘This Lonely City’, ‘Wait for me Stacey’ and ‘Mole Darby’ and also displays the bands quieter, melodic side with ‘Sunrising’ and the ballad ‘Time Has Passed’.
Their second EP ‘Strangeface’ (2013) explored a wide musical palate of light and shade from the sprawling anthems of ‘Utopiod’ and ‘Highway’ to acoustic reflections in ‘Harbour Lights’ and eeriness of ‘Grey Nurse’.
The third offering ‘Stalheim’ (2015) is an unashamed record of the band’s heavier side with riff-laden songs with powerful, lurching rhythms. The first track ‘Seeing Snakes’ sets the mood for the album that remains consistent throughout the record.
Since the release of ‘Stalheim’, Shoot the Noose have turned their attention to deeply exploring the acoustic, folk and country elements that have influenced their music since the beginning. This is allowing greater lyrical clarity and storytelling and highlights vocal harmonies and is also providing more instrumental definition and nuance. The band is set to record and release this material soon but for now be sure catch their live performances.