Artist info



band members

Kym Watling & Geoffrey Bates


Lester Flatt & Earl Scruggs, June Carter & Johnny Cash, Gram Parsons & Emmylou Harris, Doc Watson, Minnie Pearl



Kym Watling & Geoffrey Bates are songwriters from the western edge of the Northern Rivers of NSW. They have a suitcase full of stories of small towns, long highways, soft hearts, and troubled minds.

They released their first full length album ‘Small Town Tales’, produced by Thor Phillips, in 2018. Their debut EP ‘Before I Met You’ was released in 2014.

Watling & Bates ride the ridges of Australian country and American western, weaving uniquely Australian stories into their distinctive old time mountain style. Fiddle, banjo, and guitar kick up dust on a country road in full skirt, straw hat, and sturdy boots.